ISPA Innovate Awards

At ISPA, creative spirit and innovative minds do not go unnoticed. The Innovate Awards, presented annually to deserving ISPA members, celebrate innovations happening within the spa industry.

The International SPA Association is honored to once again celebrate members who lead the way with ground-breaking innovations that advance the spa industry. Earlier this year, ISPA members were encouraged to submit innovations in six categories: experiences, leadership, philanthropy, products, technology & equipment, and treatments. ISPA members reviewed the 2017 ISPA Innovate Award submissions voted for their favorite initiatives. The submissions that received the most votes have been designated the 2017 ISPA Innovate Award Winners and were recognized at the 2017 ISPA Conference & Expo.

2017 ISPA Innovate Award Winners

2016 ISPA Innovate Award Winners

2015 ISPA Innovate Award Winners

2017 ISPA Innovate Award Winners

ISPA Innovation of the Year:

The Spa at Meadowood Napa Valley
Remede Spa at the St. Regis Aspen Resort

Innovative Spa Management
Milagro Spa - Manasquan

Philanthropic Initiatives:
Sanitas Skincare
Shankara, Inc.

Eminence Organic Skin Care
Noel Asmar Group Inc.

Living Earth Crafts

Kerstin Florian International
Lake Austin Spa Resort

2016 ISPA Innovate Award Winners

Gwinganna Lifestyle Retreat
Spafinder Wellness 365
Spa Gregorie's

Philanthropic Initiatives:
Eminence Organic Skin Care
FarmHouse Fresh
Global Wellness Day

Salt of the Earth

Four Seasons Resort O'ahu at Ko Olina
The Spa at Meadowood Napa Valley

2015 ISPA Innovate Award Winners

Business Practices
Sanitas Skincare
BodiScience Wellness Center & Spa

WTS International
Spa Gregorie’s
Encore Spa at Wynn Las Vegas

Comphy Co.
Living Earth Crafts

2014 ISPA Innovate Award Winners

Business Practices:

  • COOLA Suncare, located in San Diego, California
  • East Village Spa, located in Des Moines, Iowa
  • Glen Ivy Hot Springs Spa, located in Corona, California
  • SpaEquip Inc., located in Calistoga, California
  • The Spa at the Breakers, located in Palm Beach, Florida


  • Gwinganna Lifestyle Retreat, located in Tallebudgera Valley, Queensland, Australia
  • Montage Resort & Spa, located in Laguna Beach, California
  • Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, located in Ojai, California
  • Spa Gregorie's, located in Newport Beach, California
  • The Spa at Pinehurst, located in Pinehurst, North Carlonia


  • Belmond the Inn at Perry Cabin, located in St. Michael, Maryland
  • Body Bliss, located in Sedona, Arizona
  • Mio Skincare, located in Costa Mesa, California
  • Osea Skincare, located in Malibu, California
  • ResortSuite, located in Toronto, Ontario, Canada

2014 ISPA Innovate Award Winners

2013 ISPA Innovate Award Winners

  • Eau Palm Beach Resort & Spa, located in Lantana, Florida
  • Fayez Spa, located in London, Ontario, Canada
  • Four Seasons Maui, located in Kihei, Hawaii
  • Glen Ivy Hot Springs, located in Corona, California
  • Hiatus Spa + Retreat, located in Dallas, Texas
  • Hutchinson Consulting, located in Sonoma, California'
  • JW Marriott San Antonio Lantana Spa, located in San Antonio, Texas
  • The Marsh, A Center for Balance and Fitness, located in Minnetonka, Minnesota
  • The Mirage Spa, located in Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Miraval Resort & Spa, located in Tucson, Arizona
  • Phytomer Corporation, located in Salt Lake City, Utah
  • School of Resort and Hospitality Management at Florida Gulf Coast University, located in Fort Myers, Florida
  • Spa 4 the Pink, located in Denver, Colorado
  • The Spa at Charleston Place, located in Charleston, South Carolina
  • The Spa at the Peabody, located in Orlando, Florida

2013 ISPA Innovate Award Winners

If you have any questions or would like additional information, please contact

ISPA Recipient Awards

Each year, there are three awards given to individuals at the ISPA Conference & Expo General Sessions, these awards include: ISPA Alex Szekely Humanitarian Award, ISPA Dedicated Contributor Award and the ISPA Visionary Award.

ISPA Alex Szekely Humanitarian Award

The ISPA Alex Szekely Humanitarian Award is named in honor of the late spa pioneer, Alex Szekely. It is designed to recognize an individual who acts as a respected contributor to overall well-being, encouraging the renewal of mind, body and spirit - all of which are characteristics embodied by ISPA members worldwide.

Past Humanitarian Award Recipients:

  • 2000 – Dr. Andrew Weil
  • 2001 – All ISPA members in honor of 9/11
  • 2002 – Alex Szekely (posthumously)
  • *Renamed in honor of Alex Szekely, presented to Deborah Szekely on Alex’s behalf
  • 2003 – Dr. Kenneth Cooper
  • 2004 – Ruth Stricker
  • 2005 – Deborah Szekely
  • 2006 – Dr. Michael Jacobson
  • 2007 – Dr. Maya Angelou
  • 2008 – Sir Sidney Poitier
  • 2009 – Lance Armstrong
  • 2010 – Doc Hendley
  • 2011 – Bert Jacobs
  • 2012 – Lisa Ling (accepted via video)
  • 2013 – Blake Mycoskie
  • 2014 – Jewel
  • 2015 – Alice Waters
  • 2016 – John Ondrasik

Past Humanitarian Award Recipients

ISPA Dedicated Contributor Award

The ISPA Dedicated Contributor Award is given to an active ISPA member who has contributed significantly to the growth of the association. The recipient will have demonstrated leadership and commitment to ISPA and has extensively assisted in the promotion of the association, as well as its mission and vision.

Past Dedicated Contributor Award Recipients:

  • 1999 – Richel D’Ambra
  • 2000 – Bernie Burt
  • 2003 – Jane Segerberg
  • 2004 – Peter Sng
  • 2005 – Jack Morrison
  • 2006 – Gayle Brady
  • 2007 – Dr. Jonathan DeVierville
  • 2008 – Robin Zill (posthumously)
  • 2009 – Pat and Juanita Corbett
  • 2010 – John and Karen Korpi
  • 2011 – Angela Cortright
  • 2012 – John C. Gray
  • 2013 – Mary Bemis
  • 2014 – Jim Root
  • 2015 – Sharilyn AbbajayJean Kolb
  • 2016 – Jean Kolb

Past Dedicated Contributor Award Recipients

ISPA Visionary Award

The ISPA Visionary Award is presented each year to someone in the spa industry who has made significant contributions to both the definition and positive movement of health and wellness over the lifetime of their career, a true spa industry visionary.

Past Visionary Award Recipients:

  • 1999 – Sheila Cluff
  • 2000 – Werner Mendel
  • 2003 – Frank Van Putten
  • 2004 – Edwin Neill II (posthumously)
  • 2005 – John and Ginny Lopis
  • 2006 – Sylvia Sepielli
  • 2007 – Clodagh Aubry
  • 2008 – Robin Zill (posthumously)
  • 2009 – Dr. Howard Murad
  • 2010 – Deborah Szekely
  • 2011 – Not Awarded
  • 2012 – Susie Ellis
  • 2013 – Horst Rechelbacher (accepted via video)
  • 2014 – Jane Iredale
  • 2015 – Boldijarre Koronczay
  • 2016 – Geraldine Howard

Past Visionary Award Recipients