2018 – 2019 Board of Directors and Officers Elected for ISPA

November 7, 2018

The International SPA Association (ISPA) has announced the 2018 ISPA board of directors and officers. These individuals will assume office at the first regular meeting of the board of directors following the annual meeting.

“ISPA is fortunate to have such an experienced group of spa professionals who are dedicated to helping the industry grow while serving their association,” said ISPA President Lynne McNees. “Their talents and knowledge will continue to push ISPA forward as we serve our members across the globe.”

The ISPA board of directors will be led by reelected and incumbent chairman Garrett Mersberger, director of wellness & Kohler Waters Spa for Kohler Co. Elected to the vice chairman role is Scott Duncan, president of Spa Gregorie’s Day Spas & Salon. Serving as secretary/treasurer will be Robert Vance, retreats director at Sensei Retreats Lana’i. In addition to the officers of the board, the executive committee will include Noel Asmar, CEO of Noel Asmar, Inc; Todd Shaw, national manager of private clubs/country clubs for Technogym continuing to serve in the immediate past chairman role; and Frank Pitsikalis, founder and CEO of ResortSuite continuing his role as foundation chairman.

Elected by ISPA members at the 2018 ISPA Conference & Expo were four newly elected board members.

Newly Elected Board Members:

  • Jill Carlen, global director spa concepts at Hilton Worldwide
  • Yvonne Smith, director of spa at Northern Quest Resort & Casino
  • Michelle Adams Somerville, director of spa & wellness at Woodstock Inn & Resort
  • Jessica Timberlake, public relations manager at Eminence Organic Skin Care

These individuals will join the current directors who are in the middle of an active term including: Sharilyn Abbajay, chief operations officer, Mattison Avenue Spa Salon Suites (serving as ISPA Foundation vice chairman); Brennan Evans, vice president spa operations, Trilogy Spa Holdings; Blake Feeney, vice president of business development, Living Earth Crafts; Kelleye Heydon, spa director, The Edgewater Spa; Patrick Huey, corporate spa director, Montage International; Kristine Huffman, partner, Hutchinson Consulting; Laura Parsons, director of spa, The Resort at Pelican Hill; incumbent director Eric Stephenson, chief wellness officer of Element Massage; and Lynne McNees.

ISPA is grateful for the service of Todd Hewitt, corporate director of spa, health and recreation with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts; Damien Craft, senior spa director, Four Seasons Westlake; and Michael Tompkins, partner of Hutchinson Consulting who are concluding their time on the ISPA board of directors.

Each person elected was chosen from an impressive pool of candidates following an extensive nomination and interview process. The application process for the 2019 ISPA board of directors will launch in April 2019. At that time, a call for candidates will be announced to all ISPA members. Currently ISPA members are able to participate in the association’s growth and success by applying to serve on the 2019 ISPA Volunteer Committee. The application can be found on experienceispa.com.

Scroll to Top