2017 ISPA Board of Directors and Officers Elected

November 10, 2016

The International SPA Association (ISPA) has announced the 2017 ISPA board of directors and officers. Their term will begin at the ISPA board meeting in January.

“We are grateful for the dedication of those that step up each year and apply to serve their association,” said ISPA President Lynne McNees. “We are overwhelmed by the volume of exceptional members that apply each year. It is always a difficult process to narrow down the candidates.”

The ISPA board of directors will be led by elected Chairman Todd Shaw, spa director at The Peaks Resort & Spa. Todd Hewitt, corporate director spa, health clubs and recreation, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, was elected to serve as vice chairman and serving as secretary/treasurer is Garrett Mersberger, director, Kohler Waters Spa & development, Kohler Co. Michael Tompkins, recruiter, Hutchinson Consulting will serve in the immediate past chairman role. 

Newly Elected Board Members:

• Scott Duncan, president and partner, Spa Gregorie’s

• Patrick Huey, corporate spa director, Sandals Resorts International

• Joshua Luckow, executive director of health & healing, Canyon Ranch Health Resorts

• Robert Vance, managing director, Well & Being Spa at The Fairmont Princess

Re-elected Incumbent Directors:

• Noel Asmar, president and chief executive officer, Noel Asmar Group, Inc

• Blake Feeney, vice president of business development, Chaleur Beauty


Frank Pitsikalis, founder and chief executive officer, ResortSuite and Sharilyn Abbajay, founder, Abbajay & Associates LLC, will serve in their role on the ISPA Foundation board of directors as chairman and vice chairman, respectively.  

These individuals will join the current directors who are in the middle of an active board term including: Michael Harmsworth, chief executive officer, ESPA International (US) Ltd.; Kristine Huffman, president, Huffman Hospitality Concepts; Julie Oliff, director of operations, residences, St. Regis Aspen Resort; Laura Parsons, director of operations the Americas, ESPA International (US) Ltd. (Spa Division); Eric Stephenson, director, massage education, Well World Group; Dawn Tardif, president, BodiScience Wellness Center & Spa; and Lynne McNees, president, ISPA. Dr. Brent Bauer, director of complementary and integrative medicine program, Mayo Clinic, will continue to serve as ISPA’s medical advisor.

Ella Stimpson and Todd Walter complete their terms on the ISPA board of directors after they have both served in various volunteer roles within the board and other ISPA committees. 

Each person was selected from an impressive pool of candidates following an extensive nomination and interview process. The application process for the 2018 ISPA board of directors will launch this spring. At that time, a call for candidates will be announced to all ISPA members. Currently ISPA members are able to participate in the association’s growth and success by applying to serve on the 2017 ISPA Volunteer Committee. The application can be found here


Scroll to Top