2016 Board of Directors and Officers Elected for ISPA

January 12, 2016

The International SPA Association (ISPA) has announced the 2016 ISPA board of directors and officers. Their term will begin at the ISPA board meeting later this month.

“ISPA is fortunate to have a diverse group of dedicated leaders, who are working together to advance the spa industry and support ISPA members around the world,” said ISPA President Lynne McNees.

The 2016 ISPA board of directors will be led by elected Chairman Michael Tompkins, co-chief executive officer of PALM Health.

Newly Elected Board Members:

  • Michael Harmsworth, chief executive officer, ESPA International (US) Ltd.
  • Garrett Mersberger, director, Kohler Waters Spas & Development, Kohler Co.
  • Dawn Tardif, president, BodiScience Wellness Center & Spa

Re-elected Incumbent Directors:

  • Blake Feeney, principal, Feeney & Co.
  • Todd Hewitt, senior spa director, Four Seasons Toronto
  • Julie Oliff, director of operations, residences, St. Regis Aspen Resort
  • Todd Shaw, director of spa, fitness, tennis and wellness, La Quinta Club and Resort

This slate of candidates will join the prestigious group of spa industry leaders in addition to the current directors: Sharilyn Abbajay, senior vice president operations, Red Door Spas (serving as ISPA Foundation vice chairman); Noel Asmar, president and chief executive officer, Noel Asmar Group, Inc; Kristine Huffman, president, Huffman Hospitality Concepts; Laura Parsons, director of operations of ESPA International (US) Ltd. (serving as secretary/treasurer); Frank Pitsikalis, founder and chief executive officer, ResortSuite (serving as ISPA Foundation chairman); Eric Stephenson, director of massage education, Well World Group; Ella Stimpson, director of spa, The Spa at Sea Island (serving as immediate past chairman); Todd Walter, chief executive officer, Red Door Spas; and Lynne McNees, president of ISPA. Dr. Brent Bauer, director of complementary and integrative medicine program, Mayo Clinic, will continue to serve as ISPA’s medical advisor.

Jeff Kohl’s tenure on the ISPA board of directors has expired after he served more than twenty years of volunteer work on various ISPA boards and committees.

Each person was selected from an impressive pool of candidates following an extensive nomination and interview process. The application process for the 2017 ISPA board of directors will launch this summer. At that time, a call for candidates will be announced to all ISPA members.

Scroll to Top