May17

ISPA BRINGS TOGETHER LEADING JOURNALISTS, 25 OF THE WORLD’S TOP SPAS AND THE LATEST RESEARCH ON SPA-

Wednesday, 17 May 2006

LEXINGTON, Ky. - Journalists from global television networks, the world's largest newspapers and popular magazine titles will be introduced to 25 top spas at the 2006 International SPA Association Media Event. Set for July in New York City, the ISPA Media Event is the longest running and most respected event for journalists who cover the spa lifestyle, wellness, travel, leisure, beauty and business.

"The 12th annual ISPA Media Event will include a press conference with the release of the association's highly-anticipated new research," said ISPA President Lynne Walker McNees. "This year's study includes new details on spa-goers, non-spa-goers and spa-travelers that will set benchmarks for the future."

During the press conference, invited media will be given the research to answer the "how" and "why" questions of spa-going. The research will also include such key stats that journalists have come to respect including the number of spa-goers, their demographics as well as their favorite treatments. Information on industry trends has also emerged from this deep dive into the spa world.

The popular Interactive Spa Marketplace will follow the press conference and offer media guests the opportunity to interact one-on-one with the 25 spa sponsors, all of which are ISPA members. "I always get a ton of ideas from the event," said BusinessWeek Editor Lauren Young. "Besides going there because it's fun to be pampered in the middle of midtown in the middle of the week, there is no way I can visit all these spas for story ideas. So, meeting all these people from across the country in one afternoon is invaluable."

(Editor's note: please see below for a complete list of Media Event sponsors).

About ISPA

ISPA is recognized worldwide as the leading professional organization and voice of the spa industry. Founded in 1991, ISPA's membership is comprised of more than 2,500 health and wellness facilities and providers from 73 countries. ISPA strives to advance the professionalism of the spa industry by providing invaluable educational and networking opportunities, to promote the value of the spa experience to society and to be the authoritative voice of the spa industry.

Spas are entities devoted to enhancing overall well-being through a variety of professional services that encourage the renewal of mind, body and spirit.
###

2006 ISPA Media Event Sponsors:

Aspira, The Spa - http://www.aspiraspa.com/

Canyon Ranch - http://www.canyonranch.com/

The Cliff House Resort & Spa - http://www.cliffhousemaine.com/

Exhale - http://www.exhalespa.com/

Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa - www.fairmont.com/sonoma

Four Seasons Hotels & Resorts - http://www.fourseasons.com/

Kohler Waters Spa / Kohler Co.- http://www.kohlerwatersspa.com/

Lake Austin Spa Resort - http://www.lakeaustin.com/

The Lodge at Woodloch - http://www.thelodgeatwoodloch.com/

Loews Hotels - http://www.loewshotels.com/

LXR Luxury Resorts & Golden Door - http://www.luxuryresorts.com/

Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group - http://www.mandarinoriental.com/

Mandarin Oriental, New York - http://www.mandarinoriental.com/

Marriott International - http://www.marriott.com/

Mii amo, a destination spa at Enchantment - http://www.miiamo.com/

Miraval, Life in Balance - http://www.miravalresorts.com/

Mohonk Mountain House - http://www.mohonk.com/

Montage Resort & Spa - http://www.montagelagunabeach.com/>

Ojai Valley Inn & Spa - http://www.ojairesort.com/

Red Mountain Spa - http://www.redmountainspa.com/

The Ritz Carlton Hotel Company, L.L.C.- http://www.ritzcarlton.com/

Sea Island Resorts - http://www.seaisland.com/

The Spa at Norwich Inn - http://www.thespaatnorwichinn.com/

Sundara Inn & Spa - http://www.sundaraspa.com/

Willow Stream The Spas at Fairmont - http://www.willowstream.com/