Volunteer Leadership

ISPA is a volunteer-driven organization, governed by a board of directors chosen from the membership. The vision and day-to-day operation of the company are the responsibility of an experienced and talented executive staff. Our volunteer leaders ensure that ISPA continues to grow and evolve with the times, staying at the forefront of innovation. 

ISPA Board of Directors Selection Process

Each year, the Nominations Committee is tasked with evaluating the needs of the current board and proposing the names of members to fill the vacancies that occur in the set rotation of board members each year. The ISPA Nominations process is very thorough and has evolved over the years to identify high-level leadership qualities and attributes. Annually, an application is open for any eligible member interested in serving on the ISPA Board of Directors. From there, applicants go through a standard process which can include up to two interviews (conducted via video conferencing), review professional references and a personality assessment for each candidate. Candidates are selected for the slate of candidates, put before the ISPA membership for approval. A thorough orientation process is conducted before the new directors take office at the ISPA Conference & Expo.

As a result of the COVID-19 pandemic and mass closures of spas across the globe, the ISPA Nominations Committee has made an adjustment to the process. It is anticipated that the ISPA Board of Directors Application will open in October 2021. For additional background, please see a message from the committee’s co-chairs below. If you have any questions surrounding this process or would like to receive updates when the process opens, please contact samantha.smith@ispastaff.com.

2021 ISPA Nominations Committee

Frank Pitsikalis (Co-Chair), Todd Shaw (Co-Chair), Ella Kent, Jennifer Wayland-Smith, Patrick Huey (ex-officio as the current ISPA Chairman), Jane Segerberg, Michael Tompkins, Deborah Waldvogel and Garrett Mersberger (advisor).

ISPA Board of Directors Chairman’s Council

Past ISPA Chairman who are active members of ISPA
Patrick Huey – Current ISPA Chairman
Garrett Mersberger
Gayle Brady – Brady Spa Consulting
Ella Kent – Sea Island Resort
Jeff Kohl – Spa & Club Ideations
Jean Kolb
John Korpi – Korpi & Korpi
Kate Mearns – 5 Spa Consulting LLC
Jim Root – Mii amo
Jane Segerberg – Segerberg Spa Consulting, LLC
Todd Shaw – Fountain Life
Michael Tompkins – Hutchinson Consulting
Deborah Waldvogel – ResortSuite